
Enforcement of 

Child Support 

Orders 

What you need to know 

State of Rhode Island 

Department of Human Services 

Office of Child Support Services 

 

RI Department of Human Services 

Office of Child Support Services 

77 Dorrance Street 

Providence, RI 02903  

Phone: (401) 458-4400  

Fax: (401) 458-4465 

Lottery Intercept  

Any person who has past due child 
support due in the amount of 
$500.00 is reported to the State 
Lottery. Upon a lottery winning of 
$600.00 or more, the proceeds, after 
payment of state and federal taxes, 
shall be offset up to the amount of 
past due child support. The balance 
of the lottery proceeds will be 
payable to the claimant after offset. 

License Revocation  

The Office of Child Support Services 
will serve notice upon a non-
custodial parent who owes ninety 
(90) days’ worth of child support 
payments of the agency’s intention to 
submit his/her name for license 
revocation or suspension. 

Administrative Liens  

The Office of Child Support Services 
may send written notice of an intent 
to lien personal or real property of 
the non-custodial parent for past due 
support which is required for the 
administrative lien process. The lien 
includes any unpaid child support 
that may accrue in the future. 

 

State Criminal Prosecution  

An individual who has incurred past due 

support in the amount of $10,000.00 or 

who has willfully thereafter having the 

means to do so, fails to pay for over a 

period of three (3) years, shall be guilty 

of a felony for each instance of failure to 

pay and upon conviction, be punished 

by imprisonment or a period not to ex-

ceed five (5) years. These cases may be 

referred to the Attorney General’s Office 

for prosecution. 

More questions? 

Contact us! 



  

ENFORCEMENT METHODS 

Once a child support order is entered, it contin-
ues in full force until it is modified or suspended 
by the Rhode Island Family Court. 

Non-custodial parents often make the mistake 
of not filling a motion to modify or suspend a 
court order when their situation has changed 
from the time the order was first entered. The 
order continues to run causing arrears 
(amount overdue) to accumulate and en-
forcement measures to take place. 

All enforcement is system automated. This 
means that custodial parents do not need to 
contact the child support agency to request en-
forcement of a past due order. 

Body Attachments  

A non-custodial parent is served with a witness 
subpoena and a summons to appear in court. 
Failure to appear may result in a body attach-
ment being issued for the arrest of the person 
who did not appear. 

Administrative Offset Program  

This is triggered when the non-custodial parent 
owes at least $25.00 and is at least thirty (30) 
days late in payments. The federal government 
will intercept federal payments to pay past due 
child support before a non-custodial parent is 
entitled to payments from the federal govern-
ment. Examples of this would be private ven-
dors who perform federal government works, 
small business loans and federal retirement 
benefits. 

Some payments cannot be intercepted such as: 

 Passport Denial  

All cases receiving full services from the child 
support agency are entitled to the passport de-
nial process. Persons who owe $2,500.00 or 
more in payments will be sent a notice and be 
referred to the federal government for passport 
denial. The Office of Child  Support Services 
may consider certain hardship exceptions.  

Bank Match  

The Office of Child Support Services will report 

a non-custodial parent who owes $500.00 to 

participating banks to match against their rec-

ords. The banks will provide information about 

the savings or checking account and the agency 

will place a lien on that account in accordance 

with the lien procedure. 

Insurance Intercept  

The “Insurance Intercept Act” says that any 
insurance company making a settlement of any 
claim of $3,000.00 or more must look up the 
case on the Rhode Island Child Support Lien 
website to determine if the non-custodial par-
ent is on the list of parents who owe past due 
support of $500.00 or more. If he/she is on the 
list, the insurance company must pay the 
Rhode Island Family Court the insurance pro-
ceeds up to the amount of past due child sup-
port. Attorneys’ fees and medical payments 
may be deducted. 

Credit Bureau Reporting 

 The Office of Child Support Services shall pro-

vide information regarding the amount of over-

due support to consumer reporting agencies. 

The non-custodial parent is provided written 

notice ten (10) days prior to the release of in-

formation to allow him/her an opportunity to 

contest. 

Interest  

Any past due child support accrues interest at 
12% annually or 1% per month on the unpaid 
balance. 

Motion to Adjudge in           
Contempt  

If a non-custodial parent falls behind in child 
support payments, a motion to adjudge in con-
tempt may be filed by the child support agency. 
This motion may be filed if facts support that 
the non-custodial parent had the ability  to pay 
child support and willfully failed to pay.   

Federal Tax Refund Offset   
Program  

This program collects past due child support 
payments from parents who have fallen behind 
by $150.00 and are due a tax refund. Only cases 
receiving full services under the child support 
program are entitled to this. 

If the non-custodial parent owes past due child 

support but files a joint return with a current 

spouse, the spouse may be able to request re-

turn of part of the refund due. 
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