
 

 

 

VAP: QUICK FACTS 

What is a Voluntary Acknowledgment of Parentage (VAP)? 

When two unmarried parents - same gender or not - 
wish to acknowledge a child and be listed as the 
legal parents of a child and take full responsibility for 
that child, they would sign a VAP. 

What paperwork would be completed? 
At the hospital, the parents would first read the 
“Notice Regarding Legal Rights and Responsibilities 
Resulting from Acknowledging Parentage of a Child” 
and then complete a VAP acknowledging they 
have read the notice. 

What does the hospital do with the VAP? 
The hospital staff will electronically send the VAP to 
the Center for Vital Records. You can then obtain a 
certified copy of the VAP and a birth certificate for 
your child. 

Could our VAP be rejected? 
Yes, it could be if someone else: 
▪ Was found by a court to be the child’s parent 
▪ Has a valid VAP on file, OR 
▪ Is presumed to be a parent under the law -unless 

they file a Denial of Parentage (DOP) at the 
same time you file your VAP 

▪ If there exists an “intended” parent under the 
law 

What if the birth parent was married to someone 
else? 
If the birth parent was married/civilly joined to 
someone else and the child was born during the 
marriage or not later than 300 days after the 
marriage was terminated, then the spouse/former 
spouse is a presumed parent and must file a Denial 
at the same time you file your VAP.  

Is a VAP legally binding? 
Yes. A validly signed VAP is equal to a court 
determination of parentage. A challenge is only 
allowed in limited circumstances. 

• You have the right to talk to a lawyer before 
you sign, and you also have the right to have 
genetic testing done if genetic testing is 
appropriate. 

• Once you file your VAP and it is accepted, 
you will be legally responsible for financially 
supporting the child. 

Can I rescind a VAP/DOP? 
Yes, you can rescind or take it back by: Filing a 
Rescission Petition with the Rhode Island Family Court 
— within 60 days of the effective date, or by 
participating in a court hearing involving the child, 
whichever is earlier. 

 
 

Rhode Island’s parentage law can 

be straightforward or 

complicated, depending on the 

circumstances

Contact the Office of Child 

Support Services if you need help 

establishing parentage for the 

purpose of child support.

 

  

 



 

 

 

   

ESTABLISHING PARENTAGE: 

Through Marriage / Civil Union 

If you are married or joined through civil union 
when your child is born (or up to 300 days 
before your child is born if the marriage or 
union has ended): 
▪ You do not need to do anything to establish 

parentage. 
▪ The law presumes both spouses are the 

parents (presumed parents). 
▪ The hospital staff will add both parents’ 

names to the birth certificate and send it to 
the Center for Vital Records (CVR). 

If you want to ensure you have a document that 
is equivalent to a court decree of parentage, 
you can also sign a VAP form. 

Through Assisted Reproduction 

If your child will be conceived with the help of 
assisted reproduction: 

1. You may complete & file the Voluntary 
Acknowledgment of Parentage (VAP) 
form.  OR 

2. You may seek an adjudication of 
parentage in the Rhode Island Family 
Court. 

Through Surrogacy 

If your child will be born through a gestational 
carrier (surrogate): 

1. Hire an attorney to execute a 
“Gestational Carrier Agreement” before 
the child is conceived and to ensure that 
you comply with all the statutory 
requirements. This will establish you as 
the intended parents. 

2. With the help of an attorney, seek an 
order of parentage from the Rhode Island 
Family Court (either before or after the 
child is born) or Superior Court (before the 
child is born). 

You cannot sign a VAP in this scenario. 

  Through Voluntary Acknowledgment 

If you are unmarried parents - same gender or not 

- when your child is born, and you want both your 

names to be listed as the child’s parents: 

1. Complete the Voluntary Acknowledgment of 

Parentage form with hospital staff. 

2. Sign it in front of a witness who is at least 18 

years old.  Usually this will be completed in 

the presence of the hospital staff.   

3. Hospital Staff will file it with the Center for 

Vital Records. 

 

 

If you complete it at birth: 
Hospital staff will add both names to your child’s 

birth certificate and send your VAP to the Center 

for Vital Records. 

 

If you wish to complete it later: 
You can make an appointment with the Center for 

Vital records to complete a VAP.  In this case, CVR 

staff will witness the signatures.  Both parents’ 

names will be listed on the child’s birth certificate. 

Please note: If the VAP is completed after the birth, 

you will not be able to change the child’s name 

without a court order. 

 

What makes a VAP valid? 
▪ It’s signed and dated by both parents who 

are eligible to sign. AND 

▪ It’s signed/dated by a witness who is at 

least 18.  

▪ It’s filed with the Center for Vital Records, 

at:  

Rhode Island Department of Health 

Center for Vital Records 

Simpson Hall 

6 Harrington Road 

Cranston, RI 02920 

Phone:  401-222-2813 
 

ESTABLISHING  

PARENTAGE 
 

The Rhode Island Uniform 
Parentage Act made RI State Law, 
effective January 1, 2021.  
 
The passage of the Act has 
brought about many significant 
changes in the parentage process, 
most notably the Voluntary 
Acknowledgment of 
Parentage (VAP) process. 
 
 

This simple informational 
pamphlet is provided by the RI 
Office of Child Support Services 
to provide answers to common 
questions about establishing 
parentage for your child.  
 
 

The method you use will depend 
on the circumstances of your 
child’s conception or birth.   
 
 

Please continue reading to learn 
more about establishing 
parentage for your child and the 
VAP process.   
 


